220 Leicester St, Carlton VIC 3053

Established over 100 years ago as a membership association, the Graduate Union is steadily expanding with over 2000 active members in our international association of graduates from almost every country in the world. After creating Graduate House over 50 years ago, our residential college has been a home to some of the best and brightest students, esteemed professors, scholars, researchers and distinguished experts from around the world.

The Graduate House Fellow awards an individual with Honorary Fellowship for a period of five years, an Honorary Membership with the association and $10,000 AUD. Fellows are recognised based on their significant contribution to society and the Graduate Collegiate.

Previous awardees have been recognised for paving the way for crucial new areas of study; creating and developing programs and schemes to train governments; and entrepreneurs who have played an important part in reforming national markets.
As a member of the association, these individuals have notably supported other members, residents and students. They act as mentors and guide students, visiting scholars and professors through their wealth of knowledge, experience and pathways. They speak at Seminars and Luncheons to facilitate knowledge transfer to different members across the lifespan and raise awareness of their areas of work and study.

This welcoming event is a precious and intriguing experience for me, in which we probably would not have the chance even in China. I feel honoured to be a part of it, cultivating myself and witnessing the further development of Australia-China friendship. Graduate House is not only a prestigious platform, it has a loving community which makes it a fantastic place to live, learn and grow. I could tell Professor Wang was quite happy about Graduate House and with the Honorary Fellow Award, he is already thinking of sending his little granddaughter here!
– Betsy Yu, Resident Student.

At a Networking event for members at Graduate House, with Graduate House Honorary Fellow, Professor Wang.

Crowdfunding these awards is a way of the community recognising, acknowledging and supporting these individuals who have devoted their lives to support, contribute and create a positive impact on society.
The award to be crowdfunded with consideration of the percentage amount to be able to keep the fund running in perpetuity is $10,500 AUD annually.
You can read Profiles of our Honorary Fellows and their work, published on the Graduate House Website.

By giving to this fund today, you not only help meet the target to award one person this year, you also help keep the fund in perpetuity as a small portion - 5% of your donation will be transferred into the endowment fund to meet its target, generate interest and keep it running in perpetuity. 
All donations to this fund is tax deductible. 
Learn more about The Graduate House and browse through a list of our other crowdfunded projects.

Professor Anne Steinemann

Professor Anne Steinemann is a Professor of Civil Engineering, and Chair of Sustainable Cities, at The University of Melbourne. She is internationally recognized for her research in areas of engineering and sustainability.

Professor Steinemann serves as adviser to governments and industries around the world, and has directed more than $24 million in competitive research funding. Her work has resulted in new federal and state legislation, agency policies, and industry practices.

Professor Steinemann has received the highest teaching awards at the college, university, and national levels. She has published over 55 peer-reviewed journal articles and two textbooks: Microeconomics for Public Decisions and Exposure Analysis. In addition to academic recognition, Professor Steinemann's research and journal articles have received significant international media coverage, spanning more than 1,000 major newspapers, magazines, and broadcast stations across six continents.

Professor Steinemann was made an Honorary College Fellow of The Graduate Union in 2017.

Read Professor Steinemann's profile and her article with The Graduate Union here.

Professor Stephen Peterson

Professor Peterson developed and directed Harvard’s University Executive Education Program in Public Financial Management from 1986 to 2010. The Executive Education Program trained over one thousand five hundred senior government officials from forty seven countries, as well as officials from both international development agencies and non-government organisations.

During his time at Harvard University, Professor Peterson also taught public financial management in the Graduate program of the Kennedy School of Government.

Equipped with more than thirty years of experience in public financial management, financial management information systems, financial and administration decentralization, institutional development and project design and management, Professor Peterson has delivered public financial management training to the Polish and Philippines governments and additionally, designed a public financial management training program for the Zimbabwean Ministry of Finance.

He was a resident advisor for Kenya and Ethiopia for eight and twelve years respectively. In Ethiopia, he directed the reform of budgeting, accounting, disbursements, multi-year planning and financial information systems.

He is the author of the book, Administration not Management: How Ethiopia Reformed Public Expenditure – A Model for Developing Countries, and has drafted numerous peer-reviewed articles on public financial management and public sector reform.

Professor Peterson was made an Honorary College Fellow of The Graduate Union in 2017. Read more about his profile and article with Graduate Union here.

Professor Depei Wang

Professor Wang is the Chief Economist at Forecast Thinktank, Shanghai and Vice President of the China Society of Economic Reform. He is a Senior Consultant for local governments, large enterprises and over one thousand industry and government projects. His major works include: China Economy 2016, The Future of RMB, The 4th “Finance Big Bang” and Rebalance – the Chinese Ascendancy and the American Power.

Professor Wang was made an Honorary College Fellow of The Graduate Union in 2016 during his visit to Australia. Read his article with the Graduate Union here.


How many awards are given annually?

Currently, one award is given annually.

How are Graduate House Honorary Fellows nominated?

The Graduate Union recognises individuals – Professors, Scholars, Economists, Academics, Professionals and other residents and members for their actions. Other individuals who have contributed significantly to the graduate collegiate outside of the membership association can also be appointed by members of the association.

What is the selection criteria?

A College Fellow so appointed by Council will be:
a. of international excellence and renown in their field of research and tertiary education;
b. at professorial level and employed (on faculty) at a university at the time of appointment; and
c. a contributor to and supporter of the Association.

    Pledged of $0 Goal
    Days Left
    Crowdfunding ends on
    Award of Honorary Fellowship in recognition of significant contributions to the society, graduate collegiate, economic advancement and activities facilitated for lifelong learning.
    Step 1: Finalize your contribution to Graduate House Fellow